GSOC Week 5 Summary


My weekly meeting with Mithro is today, in about twenty minutes, so I’ll summarize the week.

It’s pretty simple – this week, I worked on panelInfo’s new collapsible panels. I had started them at the beginning of the week, and now I have nearly finished with them. I have submitted the working code to Mithro for review, and after another round of making two new reference panels, I should be pretty much ready to get the new infoPanel pushed and finalized. The new system is flexible, and I find it rather nice looking. It shows all the information in a very readable way.

That means the final remaining task on my original list of goals is to create support for aged properties (properties that are out of date and no longer visible to the player). I’ll definitely get at least a start on that next week, and I hope to have it done for the midterm.

The midterm is coming up on the 6th, so I have about two weeks. I expect to be done with all of my stated goals in at least their initial versions by then, and then after the midterm I will begin by polishing up many of the previous changes, going back to make them as robust and shiny as possible. If I have more time after that, I will try to implement a system for sending messages between players. I am sure that, despite the lack of pre-planned goals for the second half, I will find plenty of good work to do.

There’s not much more to say, so I’ll leave it with a screenshot of the near-final version of panelInfo (this is one I’ve posted before, but this is a summary, right?):

The info panel with media support.

The info panel with media support.

~ by greywhind on June 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
